Edditt

The liberation of Content Management

Support Depot / FAQs

Users & restrictions

  • What effect does activate / de–activate have on a user?

    There are times were you may wish to deny a user access to edditt without having to delete them. De–activate denies the user access but still holds their account should you wish to re–activate them again. 

    It is not possible to activate a user who has not authenticated their account first.

  • What does resend mail do?

    Sometimes we find that users don’t see the activation email coming in. Or it goes to their junk. Or they accidentally delete it. This wee function allows you to resend the activation email to users so they can authenticate their account.

  • What are groups?

    From time to time you may find that you will want to have several users with the same restrictions applied to them. It can be time consuming adding the same restrictions to different users so we came up with the idea of groups. 

    Groups allow you to setup a set of restrictions once and you apply them to each user that needs them.

  • What happens if I add a restricted user to a group?

    If a user already has restrictions placed on them and you decide you want to move them into a pre–existing group, the group restrictions take precedence over the individual user restrictions.

  • What restrictions can be placed on the File Manager?

    The file manager is the central hub of all things media related in edditt. In it users can access 3rd party integrations such as flickr, vimeo or AWS as well as “local” files (files stored on the web server itself). 

    There are several choices you can make when restricting a users access to the file manager.

    No access 

    By giving no access, the user will not be able to view files, upload files or perform any operations on the files themselves such as delete, rename .etc. 

    Restrict access to various areas 

    There are 4 areas a user can have access to in the file manager: 

    Photos

    You can restrict access to specific integrations by placing a tick in the boxes of the integrations you’d like them to be able to access.

    Videos

    You can restrict access to specific integrations by placing a tick in the boxes of the integrations you’d like them to be able to access.

    Cloud

    You can restrict access to specific integrations by placing a tick in the boxes of the integrations you’d like them to be able to access.

    Local Files

    To prevent users accessing specific directories, you can restrict access to a directory which you have setup. Just choose the directory you wish to grant them access to.

  • Can I restrict access to one particular view or module?

    Very much so and we allow you to go much further than that! You can give users access to an entire module, or a view within a particular module. 

     If you want to go further again, you can restrict users to only be able to edit the fields you want them to edit. If this is the case, they only get to see what they can edit in that area. 

    If you are restricting access to a List View, you can restrict the items they can see in that view. There are far too many permutations to go through module restrictions in details so have a play!

  • I’d like changes to be authorised before they appear live on the site. Is this possible?

    When you add / modify a user, there’s the ability to specify whether changes need to be authorised and who by. 

     If you choose to have the changes authorised, any changes the user makes are not implemented immediately on their site but stored up throughout the period of time they’re logged in. 

     When the user comes to logout, they are asked if they wish to submit their changes or hold onto them until they’re ready to submit them. Once submitted the person marked to give authorisation receives a notification in their edditt inbox that changes have been submitted. They then have the ability to review the changes and make them live.

    In addition, you can specify an email address for a notification of changes to be sent to. You can send to as many email addresses as you wish but they must be separated by a comma. Again, email notification works in the same way as the edditt inbox. The email will be sent once the changes are submitted.

This site uses cookies for general analytics but not for advertising purposes. View our privacy policy to find out more. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on our website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time.